Weekly travel theme : spooky

     The weekly travel challenge theme from Aisla  at “where is my backpack” is spooky in honor of Halloween. No carved pumpkin here in Peru, though they’ll be a few celebration but I found a few pictures that I hope will be spooky enough…

     Le thème de la semaine sur le blog d’ Aisla est “spooky” (sinistre, effrayant) en l’honneur d’Halloween. Ici au Pérou, peu de citrouille ou décorations effrayantes. Il y aura quand même quelques fêtes le 31 Octobre à Cusco. J’ai trouvé quelques photos qui pourraient illustrer ce thème. A vous de juger.

Bones found in the cliffs where the Karajia sarcophagoes are (Chachapoyas-Peru) / ossements retrouvés sous les falaises où se trouvent les sarcophages de Karajia (chachapoyas – Pérou)

     Those bones are exposed on the trail below the karajia sarcophagoes. The sarcophagoes are inacessible high on the cliffs) in the region of chachapoyas, in the north of Peru.

     J’ai trouvé ces ossements en visitant le site des sarcophages de Karajia près de chahcapoyas dans le nord du Pérou. Les sarcophages sont inaccessibles situés aux milieux des falaises.

Llama fetuses / fetus de llamas – Cuzco – Peru

Dried llama fetuses found in the streets of Cuzco (quite frequent in Peru and Bolivia), they are used by shamans in some of the rituals to Pachamama for example.

     Les fétus séchés de llamas, assez courant au Pérou et en Bolivie, trouvés ici dans les rues de Cusco, sont utilisés par certains shamans lors de cérémonies rituelles (en l’honneur de la pachamama par exemple).

a guest in Hostal Andrea- Cuzco Peru / un hôte supplémentaire de l’hotel Andrea – Cusco

     I’ve been a week in the hostal Andrea in Cuzco before I saw this skull, in a niche near the entrance. I ask the actual owner the story behind it. That’s what he told me (I couldn’t verify his story): the skull is the one of the first owner (a spanish conquistador) that was jailed then killed in his own house. The skull was left there since and nobody wants to move it… so what do you think spooky ?

     J’étais dans l’hotel Andrea depuis au moins une semaine avant de voir ce crâne, dans une des niches près de l’entrée. J’ai demandé au propriétaire actuel son histoire et voici ce qu’il m’a dit : le crâne serait celui d’un ancien propriétaire (un conquistador espagnol) qui aurait été emprisonné puis tué dans cette maison. Le crâne n’aurait pas bougé de la maison depuis … Qu’est-ce que vous en pensez ?

~ by schlomorig on October 29, 2012.

9 Responses to “Weekly travel theme : spooky”

  1. You got a great entry which fits for Halloween season. Like it 🙂

  2. Those Llama fetuses are so creepy

  3. Hi there!!! Thanks for stopping at my place…I love the second pic…I think it IS spooky,…
    I like as well the pics under the title “silhouette”!

    • Hi !
      Thanks the for comment. I like your pictures vitoria2, saint-michel and potato field the most. And also your about picture.

      • Thanks!!! Vitoria is my hometown, and these are some very modern stairs placed on the Old Town to facilitate the old people´s movement…Saint Michael is in fact Mount Saint-Michael, inside the Abbey….And the above picture is Petra…
        I see you are having a great time in Peru…

      • I am indeed (it’s not too hard considering the place). Believe it or not, I’m french but never made it to Mont Saint-Michel !! It’s on my list for when I come back to France.

      • You should go!!! I have been there two times and it worths another visit!

Leave a Reply

 
